food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Howdy! July 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 3:23 am

Here it is…my first blog post!  After a couple months of regularly reading (and lurking) on several healthy eating and fitness blogs, I’m ready to join the blog world.  So, here goes…

Despite a lack of sleep last night, today was a great day.  My husband and I woke up to a HUGE thunderstorm around midnight last night, then woke up about an hour and a half later to a call from my husband’s dad that my sister-in-law gave birth to a son!  Welcome to the world, Tanner 🙂  We’re planning to go visit them (a 3 hour drive) this weekend.

When my alarm went off at 5 am, I was wide awake and ready to workout.  I headed to the gym and got in a great spin class.  I love starting my day with a workout because I feel like the first thing I did today was take care of MYSELF.  I did something I love first thing and then moved on the rest of my day- what a great feeling!

My lunch was particularly good today, so I’d like to share this chicken salad that I have been loving lately.  It packs up really well to take to work for lunch:

Chicken Dijon Salad

1/2 grilled chicken breast (leftover from dinner a few days ago; rotisserie chicken also works very well)

approx. 10 grapes, cut in half

1 stalk celery, chopped

spoonful of plain LF yogurt

big squirt of dijon mustard

sprinkle of ground ginger

Mix it all together and stuff it in a pita.  Serves 1.

Sorry, no pictures today – I’ll get some up tomorrow!

~Bridget

 

Leave a Reply

