food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

All-American Weekend August 3, 2008

Filed under: weekend — Bridget @ 10:57 pm
Tags: , ,

08 01 08 002crop08 01 08 007crop

What a great weekend!

On Saturday morning, the Mr. and I got up and decided to head to our local farmer’s market. We tried to go to this one about two months ago, only to arrive around 10:30 am to find one vendor selling watermelons. We had much better luck this time! It’s still a pretty small farmer’s market, but these are truly local farmers selling local foods.

08 01 08 003

We got a good haul of tomatoes, zucchini, eggplant, cabbage, and peaches – all for $11!! I think farmer’s markets are totally win-win; you support local farmers and know exactly where you food came from and at about half the price of the grocery store. (So I guess that’s win-win-win!)

08 01 08 018

This market is located right on the Missouri riverfront in Historic St. Charles, MO. There are lots of cute restaurants, bars and shops nearby, so we headed to a local coffee shop for breakfast. An iced caramel latte for me, an iced mocha for him, and a cinnamon roll for two:

08 01 08 008

While we sipped our coffees and digested, we walked around the shops on Main Street. St. Charles was the original capital of Missouri, and the buildings on this street are all historic. I’m kind of an American history nerd (don’t even get me started on pioneers!), so I really like walking around this part of town. 08 01 08 009 08 01 08 011

On Saturday evening, we had tickets to see the St. Louis Cardinals play the Philadelphia Phillies. I love going to baseball games and we had a great time, even if it was hot, humid, and sweaty 🙂

06 17 08 056

 

7 Responses to “All-American Weekend”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend! I’m a newbie here 🙂 but I’m thinking I might need to become a regular, great blog! Do you mind if I add you to my blogroll?

  2. HangryPants Says:

    Hi, I am a total history nerd, to so thanks for the pictures!

    Heather

  3. Wow, all that produce for $11?! Awesome!

  4. Lizzy Says:

    your weekend looks so fun and relaxing..that cinnamon looks amazing!! hope you are having a good week! (i added you to my blogroll, hope thats ok!)

  5. Bridget Says:

    Danielle- welcome! of course you can add me to your blogroll- thank you!! Maybe one of these days I’ll get my act together and start a blogroll too.

    Heather- glad there’s someone else out there! Want to play Oregon Trail sometime?

    Foodie- I know!! I can’t wait to go back.

    Lizzy- thanks for adding me to your blogroll!!

  6. Alex Says:

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  7. Alex Says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

