food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Summer Sweat August 5, 2008

Filed under: workouts — Bridget @ 10:42 pm
Tags:

Is that title too graphic?! It’s just been so HOT here. Sorry to whine and I know it’s hot everywhere, but ICK! A cold front finally came in this evening, so on my way home from class at 9:30, it was actually cooler (79 degrees) than it was on my way to the gym at 5:15 this morning (84 degrees).

On to the good kind of sweat…I actually LIKE to sweat, when I mean to! A nice sweaty workout just makes me feel so good and kinda ‘cleaned out’ inside. I’ve been trying to incorporate more strength training into my workouts. I usually get in 1 to 2 full-body strength training sessions a week, but I would really like to increase the amount and intensity to tone up. So, I’m shooting for 3 sessions a week.

Yesterday morning I did strength training #1 and tried out Gina a.k.a. Fitnesssista’s latest workout. It incorporated some things I had never done before and I really enjoyed it. I didn’t get to try the Hamstring Stability Ball Roll, though, because all the stability balls were being held hostage in the group exercise room and there was a class going on. I think I’ll try to do it tomorrow, though- it’s always fun to try new things with the stability ball and then watch it roll away when I mess up. Anyways, I am all kinds of ‘good sore’ today- mostly in my pecs and in some muscles in my back that I don’t know the name of and don’t think I have ever worked before.

Finally, does anyone know the real answer to this question: If I strengthen my pecs, will my boobies get smaller? Or will it make them look bigger?

Technorati Tags:
 

6 Responses to “Summer Sweat”

  1. HangryPants Says:

    I love your question. Can’t wait to find out the answer.

    – Heather

  2. […] posted here: Summer Sweat Categories : Strength […]

  3. Erin Says:

    Here’s what I’ve heard on the boob issue. If you strengthen the upper pecs, you’ll create the illusion of more cleavage.
    In my experience, working my pecs has done nothing to change my size – just the look of my chest. I started working chest six years ago and I’m still stacked. 🙂

  4. Lizzy Says:

    YEAAHHH for a sweaty workout! this morning I was right there with you. I do a lot of strength training during the week…and a lot of intense pec exercises and I didn’t really have a chest to begin with (34A/32B) but I definitely say that strengthening your pecs gives you the illusion of having more clevage… i get away with wearing low cut shirts because of this, so i really like it!!

  5. Bridget Says:

    Erin and Lizzy- THANKS! I’ll definitely keep working the pecs if it gives any illusion at all of having a bigger chest!

  6. Thanks for the visit to FBG. 🙂 In my experience, you can’t really make the girls bigger, but you can make them perkier. You fight gravity.


Leave a Reply

