food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Bon jour August 13, 2008

Filed under: travel — Bridget @ 10:21 pm
Tags:

I’m in Montreal this week for work, a city I’ve never been to before.  It’s a beautiful city that feels much more diverse than a lot of places I have been to in the U.S.  It has a European-feel due to some of the older architecture and I’m sure all the people speaking French and the street signs in French contribute to that, too.

We went to a delicious restaurant tonight and I had creme brulee for dessert!  It was DELICIOUS.

I’ve lived in the Midwest for most of my life and in suburbia for the great majority of that and I always wonder- would I like living in a city?  I love having lots of space in my house and a nice backyard, but I also think I would enjoy being able to walk out my front door and go to dinner, work, shopping, etc.  Would that wear off, though, and then I would just feel crowded and claustrophobic?  Maybe someday we’ll make the move and see what city-life would be like.

Hopefully I’ll get to see more of Montreal tomorrow, unfortunately the co-workers I travel with are all males, are much older than I am, and I have very little in common with any of them, so I don’t really have a ‘buddy’ to go exploring around the city with.  I’m a little down right now- I always miss the Mr. and the puppy when I’m away and I’m really not loving (or liking) my job too much right now.  I know that a job is always going to be ‘work’ and I have no idea what I really want to do, but I just don’t think this is it 😦

Sorry for being a downer…maybe I had too much wine at dinner!

I was too tired to workout this morning, so I’m going to hit the sack and be up early for a workout tomorrow.  Hopefully that puts me in better spirits tomorrow!

 

2 Responses to “Bon jour”

  1. Ben Says:

    If you want to experience “real” city-life in Montreal, don’t hesitate to venture out of downtown and visit some of the neighbourhoods where Montrealers live and eat.

    If you had to visit only one neighbourhood, I’d suggest you explore the Plateau Mont-Royal, centered around Mont-Royal métro station. Stroll down Mont-Royal avenue (anywhere between de Lorimier and St-Laurent), St-Denis st (mostly between Mont-Royal and Sainte-Catherine), Saint-Laurent boulevard, Duluth and Prince-Arthur streets for restaurants, stop in Lafontaine park and Square Saint-Louis if you need a break. There’s enough in this neighourhood to keep you busy for the entire week. And if you don’t know where to go, there’s a small tourist information kiosk rigth outside the metro station. You will not see many tourists in this part of town, but you’ll see thousands of Montrealers enjoying their meals or sipping coffee on terrasses (that’s how we call patios here), shopping, or just enjoying a nice walk with their family).

    If you need other recommendations, just ask!

    Bon séjour à Montréal!

    A Montrealer who stumbled randomly on your blog

  2. Ben Says:

    Oh, I almost forgot: as a foody, you shouldn’t miss a visit to marché Jean-Talon, Montreal’s biggest farmers market. There are tons of stalls, and the market is surrounded by cheese shops, cafés, butchers, florists, etc. Definitely a not-to-miss, if you can.


Leave a Reply

