food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Zumba and Girls Weekend August 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 11:19 pm

Long blogging hiatus, I know, I’m still getting the hang of this!

The Mr. was out of town last weekend, so it was a girls weekend at my house!  Just me and Lucy the pup 🙂  I’m not really sure where the term “Man’s Best Friend” came from, because Lucy is Girl’s Best Friend when the Mr. isn’t around.  I love having a big dog (she’s 85 pounds!) because I do feel more of a sense of security when I’m by myself.  And I really think she knows when she needs to protect me.  Lucy isn’t much of a growler or barker at all, but this weekend, she definitely growled at things outside the front and back doors more often.  I’m sure if someone tried to come in, she would jump on them and lick them to death 🙂

~~~

I tried something new on Sunday morning- Zumba class!  I love love love to dance and spent the first 18 years of my life devoting most of my time to ballet, pointe, tap, jazz and dance team, so I thought a dance-y workout would be fun for me.  I really enjoyed Zumba and it was a pretty good workout.  I picked up the routines pretty easily, but did add some extra jumping and hip-shaking to up the cardio burn.  I wore my heart rate monitor and my HR was in the 150’s most of the time, so I was satisfied for a fun Sunday morning workout.  I was a little disappointed in the instructor – because I felt like she should have been shaking her hips more!!  It seems like it would be a fun class to teach.  Teaching group exercise classes like spinning and now Zumba is on the list of things I want to do when I’m done with my Master’s.

 

4 Responses to “Zumba and Girls Weekend”

  1. Erica Says:

    Where have you been?? lol We’ve been to 3 Cards games, had a birthday, and started school since you’ve been on here!! haha Just giving you a hard time! What kind of dog do you have? Our 11 year old Golden Retriever just passed away last Wednesday so I am familiar with the whole “big dog that will lick you to death” routine! So you’re description made me smile…and miss Tanner a little. 😦 After starting to read your blog before, I have been toying with the idea of starting my own…so a couple of days ago, I did. I’m still just figuring it out but I truly like it. Thanks for the inspiration! Go Cards! Wish we could be there for tonight’s game…we need to pick up games against Milwaukee!

  2. HangryPants Says:

    I’ve never heard of Zumba but it sounds fabulous.

  3. thanks for commenting on my blog!!! I love the rockettes too 🙂 Im really lucky that i get to be a part of it. Ive never heard of Zumba but it sounds great!!! gotta love dancing 🙂

  4. Bridget Says:

    Erica- I know, I’m such a blog slacker!! Sorry about your dog, I can’t even imagine what that will be like. Lucy is a chocolate lab 🙂 looking forward to reading your blog!

    HP- so fabulous- try it ASAP.

    Vegan- obviously you would love Zumba too!


Leave a Reply

