food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Separating the party from the party food September 30, 2008

Filed under: Social events — Bridget @ 10:31 pm

Last weekend was full of friends, fun, food, shopping and beer…we drove to Springfield, MO (about 3 hours away) with some friends on Friday afternoon to visit other college friends who moved there about a year ago.  I had a great time!

It wasn’t my healthiest weekend, but reflecting on it, I think I made okay choices and definitely enjoyed myself.  Situations with lots of beer and bar food are a danger zone for me…that’s how I gained more than the allotted 15 lbs in college.  The social-ness surrounding all the beer and food is just so much fun!!  I’ve been working on separating the situation and why I enjoy it (friends, conversations, laughing, relaxing) from the food and beer itself. 

However, I did consume a pretty embarrassing amount of puppy chow last weekend.  That stuff is addictive and DELICIOUS!

Last night, I met my sorority alumnae association for happy hour at the bar that was the exact site of my college weight gain.  The bar is across the street from the university and used to have happy hour from 3 to 7 pm everyday with 2 for 1 drinks and appetizers.  Now, I can’t believe there was a time when I would consume a huge chicken quesadilla and an order of spin dip with at least 2 beers by myself.  Gross.  Even if all of that was only $11.  Anyways, I met the girls right after work and I went with a plan: a vodka soda and a water and then dinner when I got home.  I stuck to the plan pretty easily, especially since I indulged in quite a bit of beer and quite a bit of grease and cheese over the weekend.

The best part is, I had a great time with good friends which had nothing to do with what we were eating or drinking.  Mission accomplished.

 

4 Responses to “Separating the party from the party food”

  1. Hangry Pants Says:

    I thought you ate dog food. Thank goodness you provided the link. 🙂 Sounds good. Yay for good time with friends.

  2. Bridget W Says:

    Its so fun going back to college!! And yes puppychow is SO ADDICTING!!! but so good!!

  3. Hangry Pants Says:

    If you find out the name of your English Muffins, let me know!

  4. Hangry Pants Says:

    I knew they were Matthew’s! I’ve had those and they are good!!!! Ezekiel, though, is like a whole other world. I don’t even use them as English Muffins. They are so thick and dense they are more like a roll. If they’re ever on sale, give them a try! I go them with my brother’s Whole Food’s discount. Ok, I will stop hogging your comment section now. 🙂


Leave a Reply

