food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Go Big Red! October 5, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Snacks,Social events,weekend — Bridget @ 8:35 pm

On Saturday night the Nebraska Cornhuskers played the Missouri Tigers.  I don’t know if I’ve exactly spelled this out on the blog before, but I grew up in Nebraska and currently live in Missouri.  Therefore, Saturday night’s game was a good excuse to host a party!  Unfortunately, Mizzou showed up in Lincoln and basically beat the crap out of the Huskers.  But we have a new coach, so technically, this is a rebuilding year for Nebraska;)

Anyways, our friends came over and we had quite a spread of food.  I didn’t get a pic of the whole thing, but it was your typical football food fare- chips, dip, salsa, mini-cheeseburgers, etc.  I made a couple things, including turkey and veggie roll-ups and the best red pepper hummus ever:

IMGP1848

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

1 roasted red pepper

1 can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

1.5 T tahini

3 T lemon juice (juice of one lemon)

.5 t ground cumi

.5 t ground cayenne

dash salt

Put all ingredients in food processor and process until desired consistency.  I added a drizzle of olive oil and then processed again because it wasn’t quite smooth enough. 

 

Most importantly, I made red velvet cupcakes!  The Huskers are also known as the Big Red, so these were appropriate.

In progress:

  IMGP1836 IMGP1837 IMGP1839

Finished product:

IMGP1840

 

YUM!  Definitely worth the splurge and the bottle of red food coloring πŸ™‚

Technorati Tags: ,
 

7 Responses to “Go Big Red!”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Gorgeous cupcakes!!

  2. Hangry Pants Says:

    What exactly are red velvet cupcakes. I’ve never had one.

  3. Bridget Says:

    Thanks, VeggieGirl!

    Hangry- this is one of my favorite things about food blogs- learning about different things people eat in other parts of the country. Anyways, red velvet cake is a southern tradition and is basically a chocolate cake with a ton of red food coloring (literally a whole 1 oz. bottle). This is the recipe I used:

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Red-Velvet-Cupcakes/Detail.aspx

    Have you ever seen Steel Magnolia’s? The groom’s cake is an armadillo and it’s red velvet inside…hehehe…

  4. Hangry Pants Says:

    That’s what I thought, but I wasn’t positive because I’ve heard people say it’s not just chocolate cake, but I would imagine it tastes the same? I think someone tried to tell me once that it doesn’t taste like chocolate? Maybe I will have to be faux southern and make this.

    Oh and saw your comment about the BBQ Tofu and Apples! I am so excited that you made it! I’ve never had anyone try a recipe I made up. I hope you liked it.

  5. I’ll take 10 of those cupcaks, please.

    Im not kidding.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  6. Bridget Says:

    Kelly, I’m sure you would have appreciated them more than my co-workers did when I took the leftovers to work!!

  7. Lindsey Says:

    love the pink Kitchen Aid mixer! πŸ™‚ I just found your blog, and have been enjoying it so far!


Leave a Reply

