food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Race Day! October 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 1:17 pm

The Mr. and I got up this morning to participate in a local race – the Gumbo Flats Pumpkin Run 5K and 10K.  It’s a very fun, FLAT race through a business park area and it’s the first year we have done it.  People are encouraged to wear costumes, but I didn’t see too many- probably because it was pretty cold this morning!!  About 42 degrees when we got there and about 46 on our way home!  I wore some cat ears and the Mr. wore a fuzzy hat 🙂

I ran the 10K and set a new PR- 52:35!!  That’s an 8:29/mile pace!!  That is much faster than I have ever ran in a timed race before.  I have always set a goal time for races and my goal for this one was 55 minutes, which would have been a PR as well. 

The post-race snacks were a little out of control at this race, including: mini hot-dogs, pizza, donuts, beer, ice cream, and Chik Fil-A chicken biscuits.  I stuck to the usual post-race eats like 1/2 bagel, fruit, and water! 

After a nice hot shower, a nap, and some lunch, I’m ready to enjoy the rest of the day.  I think we’re going to do a little shopping, then maybe meet up with some friends later.

Hope you’re having a wonderful Saturday!

 

5 Responses to “Race Day!”

  1. graduatemeghann Says:

    Congrats on your race! That’s an amazing time!

  2. Bridget Says:

    AWESOME time for your race!!! That must of been so exciting! I’m still working on the whole running thing…maybe by the spring I’ll try my first race…but the whole running in the winter isn’t going to be very productive for me.

  3. HangryPants Says:

    Congratulations! Great time! I hope to do a 10k at some point, but I’ll probably stick to 5ks for now! Anyway, excellent job – celebrate and relax today!

  4. Bridget Says:

    Thanks everyone!!

  5. Congrats on your race and awesome time!


Leave a Reply

