food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Change November 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 11:15 pm

Tuesday was not only a big day for Barack Obama and America, it was a big day for me personally too.  I got a job offer!!!  I had an interview a couple weeks ago for this position and then spent several hours visiting the office on Monday.  This job is with my current company and is similar to what I do now, but different enough that it will be a nice change of pace for me.  And it’s a promotion πŸ™‚

But the best part??  It’s in my hometown!!  The Mr. and I will be moving there (near Omaha, Nebraska) sometime in the next month or so.  And the company will pay for it- HOORAY!  We have a lot to do in the next month- cleaning our house, putting it up for sale, house hunting in Omaha, packing stuff, actually moving, finishing a huge project for school, etc…

I’m so EXCITED to live near my parents, sisters, brothers-in-law, and niece and nephew! 

Change and Food

Based on the above, I’ve been a little anxious for the last few weeks.  This hit big-time last week, especially on Friday when I found out that they were not going to be able to offer me the complete relocation package.  I wouldn’t have been able to take the job without all the relocation benefits (not exactly a great market to sell a house…) and I felt completely crushed.  I left work shortly after that and found solace in a some Halloween candy at home.  This wouldn’t have bothered me, but I had more than a few pieces and felt pretty gross afterwards.  It was definitely emotional eating.  That plus a lot of extra sugar that made it’s way into my body last week has been making me feel not-so-healthy.  I have always had a major sweet tooth and I LOVE chocolate, but it’s gotten out of control lately.  I decided to do a little chocolate detox this week and am not eating any chocolatey treats after or between meals.  Today is my third chocolate-free day, which might actually be the longest I’ve ever gone without chocolate in my life.  I believe that we can enjoy all things in moderation and be very healthy, but I have not been practicing the moderation part of this lately and I can tell my body feels different from all the sugar.  Obviously, I don’t plan to do this forever, but for at least a week or maybe two until I can re-train myself to remember that desserts and chocolates are treats and are something to savor and enjoy in moderation.  I’ll let you know how it goes πŸ™‚

 

4 Responses to “Change”

  1. Meghann Says:

    Congrats on the new job!

    I have been in a chocolate detox this week as well thanks to my overload of it last week. My tummy feels better, but I’m not sure how much longer I can go with out chocolate. I jsu tneed to remember to preactice moderation in the future, especially with more holidays coming up!

  2. Hangry Pants Says:

    Congratulations! I know what you mean about emotional eating. Not only do you eat too much, you feel bad about it which makes it worse …

  3. Bridget Says:

    Thanks Meghann and Heather!!

  4. Bridget Says:

    Congratulations!! That is SO awesome…esp the way the economy is right now. Have fun with all your new changes happening!


Leave a Reply

