food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Simplicity November 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 10:33 pm

Happy Thursday!  I love Thursdays because there’s so much anticipation for the upcoming weekend 🙂

As I mentioned before, the Mr. and I are MOVING…which means we must sell our house (yikes!).  Our house doesn’t need any major projects before it’s ready to sell, but it needs cleaned and de-cluttered.  We started with the laundry room…the Mr. put up some extra shelving and tonight I cleaned and organized.  My goal was to make it look like a page out of Real Simple magazine.

How’d I do??

 

IMGP1905

It’s hard to get a pic because the room is really narrow.  The room doubles as a mud room and is the entrance to the house from the garage…also right next to the kitchen so it needs to look functional.  Another angle:

IMGP1907

 

Next up, something else simple for my FIRST Blogger Secret Ingredient submittal.

IMGP1913  

I’m really not super creative in the kitchen, but I do love sweet potatoes, so here’s my creation:

Sweet Potato Nachos

Here’s what I did:

  • sliced a sweet potato into “chips”
  • sprayed chips with Olive Oil cooking spray and sprinkled with salt, pepper, and cayenne
  • baked at 450 for about 15 minutes
  • flipped and baked for another 10ish minutes
  • topped each chip with a small scoop of vegetarian refried black beans and a few sprinkles of shredded cheese
  • put the chips back in the oven for about 3 minutes- until cheese got melty
  • topped each with some chipotle salsa

YUM!  I don’t if this really counts as a recipe, but this was delicious and really fun to eat 🙂

 

7 Responses to “Simplicity”

  1. […] Happy Thursday! I love Thursdays because there’s so much anticipation for the upcoming weekend. As I mentioned before, the Mr. and I are MOVING…which means we must sell our house (yikes!) Original post […]

  2. Chris Moran Says:

    Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

  3. Sweet potato, black beans and cheese is one of my new favorite combos. I think they were meant to be together. 🙂

  4. Bridget Says:

    I completely agree!

  5. HangryPants Says:

    Sweet potato nachos what a wonderful idea! YUMMMMM.

    Heather

  6. biz319 Says:

    I love your laundry room! Mine is in my unfinished basement and I want to get out of there as quickly as possible!

    Like your BSI submission!

  7. Erin Says:

    That’s such a cool recipe, I love it!
    You’ve got the Real Simple thing down. 🙂 Good luck selling the house! I hope the market is good where you live!


Leave a Reply

