food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Update, Running, Sunday Soup November 23, 2008

Filed under: weekend — Bridget @ 8:33 pm

Hi Friends!  It’s been a busy week and it’s already time to gear up for another new week.  I am THANKFUL that I only have to go to work 3 days this week 🙂

I didn’t get to spend much time at home (or blogging!) last week due to school meetings, class, continuing to clean the house, and a candle party.  I also didn’t get to workout much last week, but I’m going to save my reflection on that for another post.

With Bells On

This morning I got up to run in the Arthritis Foundation’s Jingle Bell Run!  A good friend of mine organized this year’s run, so I was happy to go out and support her and such a great cause.  Here are some facts about arthritis:

    • Rheumatoid Arthritis affects 1.3 million Americans.
    • 27 million Americans live with osteoarthritis.
    • 300,000 children have some form of juvenile arthritis.
    • Arthritis isn’t just something that happens to ‘old’ people- it effects people of every age. (facts from www.arthritis.org)

Along with our race numbers, all participants were given jingle bells to tie on their shoes.  I kept mine in my pocket because I thought they might be a little annoying on my shoes, but it was really cool to hear all the bells jingling when the race started!

Despite it being 22* when I woke up and about 26* during the race, I set a new 5K personal record!  My chip time was 24:29, a 7:56 pace!!  I think I run faster in the cold because I’m motivated to get inside where it’s warm!  The run felt great, I definitely pushed myself but didn’t overdo it. 

Sunday Soup-day

After celebrating my great run with a Pumpkin Spice Latte and catching up on a few DVR-ed shows, I made a  HUGE pot of soup for lunch: IMG_1253 

Lentil Soup

I used this recipe, but modified the ingredients like this:

  • omitted onion (didn’t have any on hand)
  • carrots
  • celery
  • minced garlic from the jar in my fridge
  • dried oregano
  • dried basil
  • bay leaf
  • diced tomatoes- a little less than one can
  • dry lentils
  • 4 c. chicken broth; 4 c. water
  • spinach
  • dash of red wine vinegar
  • S + P

It was good!  I’ve never made lentil soup before, but this was pretty tasty.  I had a small mug with some leftover cornbread.

IMG_1250IMG_1251

I think it will taste even better tomorrow, which is good, because that pot made all these leftovers (that’s 3 servings for the fridge to eat this week, 4 for the freezer to be eaten later):

IMG_1255

So, while this soup did a good job using up things in my pantry, it didn’t really help out my “clean-out-the-freezer” mission!  Oh, well 🙂

I spent the rest of Sunday working on a project for school and enjoyed a nice long walk with my husband and dog!  Here’s a question: WHY do runs (like this morning’s Jingle Bell run) start at 8 am on cold November mornings??  It was 25* this morning and about 50* this afternoon!

 

Technorati Tags: ,
 

8 Responses to “Update, Running, Sunday Soup”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    your soup looks so hearty – yum!!

  2. strongandhealthy Says:

    Your soup looks delicious!!

  3. Hangry Pants Says:

    Congrats on the 5k – great time! Delicious soup. 😀 You can definitely send some to me if you need to get rid of it.

  4. Hangry Pants Says:

    Congrats on the 5k – great time! Delicious soup. 😀 You can definitely send some to me if you need to get rid of it.

  5. VeggieGirl Says:

    Scrumptious soup!!

    Fabulous run!!

  6. Haha – I read Sunday Soup-day and saw pumpkin spice latte right below and thought you made a pumpkin spice latte soup. I was kind of excited about it…not that the lentil doesn’t look equally delicious. 😛

  7. Bridget P Says:

    Lindsay, Strong and Healthy, VeggieGirl- Thanks!!
    HP- I wish I could mail some, I’m afraid I’m going to get sick of it!
    Ashley- hmmm…pumpkin spice latte soup…that sounds delicious!!

  8. Tina Says:

    Congrats on the 5K! You are a speed demon! 🙂


Leave a Reply

