food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Gobble Gobble November 27, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Dinner — Bridget @ 7:47 pm

Happy Thanksgiving, blog friends!!  Today has been a great day so far!  Since we decided to stay at our house rather than travel this year, we worked hard to put together our Thanksgiving meal today and thoroughly enjoyed it.

My favorite part of Thanksgiving is actually the morning- eating pumpkin bread, watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade and just lounging around in my PJ’s.

 IMG_1266

This morning I whipped together a batch of pumpkin bread as soon as I got up.  I used my mom’s classic recipe, but subbed applesauce for the oil and added chocolate chips.  It was delicious!  Lucy helped me read through the Black Friday ads.

IMG_1267 IMG_1268 

Our Thanksgiving dinner menu consisted of:

Turkey

Mashed Potatoes

Gravy (from a jar)

Green Bean Casserole

Roasted Butternut Squash and Sweet Potatoes with Maple

Rolls

Salad with Cranberries, Walnuts, Red Onions and Goat Cheese

IMG_1292

There’s really no way to make this food in an appropriate portion for two people, so we ended up with a ton of food.  I’m glad we skipped the stuffing; I missed it a little bit, but it would have been waaay too much food.

I would say the highlights were the turkey and the rolls.  It was the first time we have roasted a turkey and the first time I have made rolls from scratch.  They both turned out excellent!

The Mr. was completely in charge of the turkey:

 IMG_1276 IMG_1277 IMG_1281 IMG_1282

I made wheat rolls using this recipe.  I thought the whole process was really fun and they turned out sooo yummy.  I will definitely be making these again and have more confidence now to try baking other kinds of bread (I think this was the second time I have ever used yeast…).

IMG_1278IMG_1280IMG_1287

 IMG_1288  

We took a nice long walk with Lucy after dinner, cleaned the kitchen and now we’re going to relax on the couch with wine and some movies for the rest of the night.

Hope you all had a fabulous holiday!

 

Technorati Tags: ,,,
 

3 Responses to “Gobble Gobble”

  1. Hangry Pants Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, blog friend!

    Your rolls look wonderful! Bread is such fun to make, you’ll be hooked now!

    – Heather

  2. VeggieGirl Says:

    AMAZING celebration!!

    Aww, Lucy is precious 🙂

  3. Melissa S. Says:

    what a great feast!!

    glad the bread recipe worked out nicely~


Leave a Reply

