food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

St. Louis Spirit November 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 12:53 pm

IMG_1294

 

I’ve had such an awesome weekend!  I can’t believe it’s almost time to go back to work…I love long weekends!

On Friday, I went for a 5 mile run as soon as I got up, which felt awesome.  The weather was really mild and I actually over-dressed a little.  Zach and I went out to do some Black Friday shopping after lunch, grabbed lunch at our FAVORITE sushi restaurant and then went to see Four Christmases.  It really was a great date movie- Zach laughed a lot at Vince Vaughn and it had a cute love story (and Reese Witherspoon is adorable as usual).

Saturday got even better!  I went to spinning at 8 am with one of my favorite instructors.  We cleaned up the house for a while and then went to the Missouri History Museum.  I’ve lived in St Louis for over 7 years and Zach has lived here for 5 and neither of us has even been there.  I wanted to see an exhibit called Katherine Dunham: Beyond the Dance.  Katherine Dunham was an anthropologist and dance legend who created her own technique based on African and Caribbean cultural influences.  The exhibit included costumes, set back-drops, and tons of information about her life and legacy.  So interesting! 

We wandered around the rest of the museum and learned about the 1904 World’s Fair in St. Louis, Charles Lindbergh’s life and historic flight, and the settlement and growth of St. Louis.  Pictures weren’t allowed in any of the exhibits, so the only one I snapped was the one above from the lobby.

To continue our St. Louis-themed day, we went to dinner on The Hill, St. Louis’ Italian neighborhood famous for it’s amazing restaurants.  We ate at Zia’s, a favorite of mine.  My parents used to take me here when they dropped me off for school in the fall.  We started with a St. Louis favorite- toasted ravioli.  Personally, I had never heard of this until I moved here…basically, it’s ravioli breaded and fried and served with marinara sauce.  The story is that many years ago on a restaurant on The Hill, a cook accidentally dropped some ravioli into the fryer and voila! toasted ravioli was born.

IMG_1299
 

So sinful, but so delicious!!  Toasted ravioli (or T-Ravs, its common nickname) are often found on bar appetizer menus, but those are usually made from frozen mass-produced breaded ravioli.  This was Zach’s first time eating the “real thing” and I think it changed his life.  I’m not usually of fan of fried stuff, but this was worth every single fried calorie!  After the t-ravs, salad, and a bowl of pasta bigger than my head (which I probably ate less than 1/3 of), I was stuffed, but it was completely worth it.

Now I’m sitting on the couch watching Legally Blond on Oxygen and avoiding writing a paper for school.  I wish there was a marathon of something fabulous on TV today…

 

2 Responses to “St. Louis Spirit”

  1. Toasted ravioli! My high school had it for lunch every Wednesday. It’s so funny that people outside of STL haven’t really heard of it when it was so common for us.

  2. Hangry Pants Says:

    Toasted ravioli is excellent! You’re right … so sinful and delicious.

    Glad you had a fun weekend and enjoyed spinning. I think there was a real housewives of atlanta marathon on today. I can watch anything in a marathon.


Leave a Reply

