food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Basement Bootcamp December 2, 2008

Filed under: travel,workouts — Bridget @ 5:47 pm

On Sunday evening, I wanted to workout in the evening but didn’t want to go to the gym because it was cold, dark, and snowy (technically, I think it was “winter mix-y”).  I wanted to run on our treadmill in the basement, but something is wrong with the belt, so I couldn’t.  Determined not to let this prevent me from working out, I did a little basement bootcamp.  I put a DVD of the first season of Desperate Housewives in the DVD player and did the following routine twice (everything for one minute, unless otherwise noted):

  • Jump rope- two minutes
  • jump squats
  • jumping jacks
  • burpees w/pushup
  • traveling plie squats- the length of the basement and back, twice
  • butt kicks – the length of the basement and back, twice
  • high knees- the length of the basement and back, twice
  • mountain climbers
  • pike to push-up (basically put your hands on the ground, walk them out to plank and do a pushup)
  • jump rope- two minutes
  • standing side crunches (5 lb. dumbell in hand extended above head, bend hand and knee toward each other), one min. per side

I think that’s it!  Let me tell you- two days later and my calves are still sore.  It really was a great workout, it took me the length of one DVD episode of DH- so about 45 minutes and I burned around 400 calories.  I love to run, but this was a really nice change.  I didn’t map it out beforehand, just did whatever I felt like next.

I don’t think I mentioned I’m out of town for work this week.  Traveling, especially with the people I’m with, usually isn’t a very healthy experience – lots of big restaurant meals and lots of drinking.  So far I’ve been good- I hit the hotel gym last night, had a light dinner and went to bed early.  Tonight will probably be a different story…we’re going to some social events that our suppliers are hosting and people have mentioned making this my “going away party”, which most likely means a lot of drinks.  I don’t want to feel like crap tomorrow and I do want to get in some exercise, so I’m planning to have as much fun as I can tonight without going overboard – this means water in between every drink and eating a healthy dinner.

 

7 Responses to “Basement Bootcamp”

  1. Good for you for getting in a good workout at home. My gym unexpectedly closed the other day and I just said oh well!

  2. Melissa S. Says:

    great home workout!! i need to do something like that!

  3. Meghann Says:

    I LOVE bootcamp routines! Great way to get some cardio in!

  4. Tina Says:

    I love workouts like these! Looks like a good one!

  5. VeggieGirl Says:

    Fabulous workout routine!!

  6. Hangry Pants Says:

    Way to go on the basement workout!

  7. good for you! that sounds like a hard workout! I always work out hardest when im watching a favorite Tv show too.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com


Leave a Reply

