food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

BSI Submittal: Chocolate Peppermint Pizzelles December 14, 2008

Filed under: Baking — Bridget @ 6:44 pm

IMG_1351 

 

I was really excited when Ashley at Sweet & Natural chose peppermint for this week’s BSI.  I am totally a chocolate and peppermint kind of girl- York peppermint patties, Junior Mints, Thin Mints, homemade chocolate and mint things, you name it, I love it!  (I also love chocolate and PB, chocolate and caramel and chocolate and pretty much anything…but I do particularly love chocolate and mint!)

I knew I would bake something for this week’s challenge and decided to try this Food Network recipe that I printed out a year ago and never got around to making.  I wanted to create my own recipe, but this one was just sitting in my recipe binder and I just had to try it ๐Ÿ™‚

Pizzelles (Pitz-ay-luh) are a thin Italian cookie made on a special pizzelle iron, which looks a lot like a waffle iron.  I got this one as a wedding gift.

IMG_1329

My nana used to make pizzelles all the time, so they bring back such happy memories!  She always made vanilla pizzelles, which is the only kind I have ever made before.  If you’ve never had one, a lot of people describe the flavor and texture as similar to a waffle cone.  I’ve been wanting to try to make chocolate pizzelles, so this recipe was the perfect chance.  So, first I made the dough and cooked the pizzelles in the iron. 

Dough Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder 
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon finely grated orange zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted, cooled to room temperature

     IMG_1330 IMG_1333 IMG_1335

    Next, I made a chocolate peppermint filling and put it between two pizzelles to make a “sandwich”.

    Filling ingredients:

    • 6 ounces semisweet chocolate
    • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
    • 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract

     IMG_1352

    I only filled half of the batch so that I could enjoy the rest plain.  These are SO GOOD!  I had a plain one with my coffee this morning ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Advertisements
     

    9 Responses to “BSI Submittal: Chocolate Peppermint Pizzelles”

    1. Hangry Pants Says:

      I wish I liked mint and chocolate because this looks wonderful!

    2. Tina Says:

      Fantastic! These are the perfect holiday treat! ๐Ÿ™‚

    3. Kelly Turner Says:

      ooo those look like something my grandma used to make!! they look great!

      Kelly Turner
      http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

    4. These are SO pretty! Chocolate and mint is a fantastic combo!

    5. Melissa S. Says:

      omg those looks AMAZING!!! totally perfect for christmas eve dessert!

    6. […] Bridget @ food.fit.fun โ€“ Chocolate Peppermint Pizzelles […]

    7. Beautiful recipe! I’m a huge fan of pizzelles, and I love that you modified the recipe to make sandwiches! Perfect.

    8. Sara Says:

      These look amazing. My waffle maker came with pizzelle plates, and I’m sad to say I haven’t tried making them yet!


    Leave a Reply

    