food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Quiche! December 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 12:02 pm

It’s been quite a week!  Had to take a little blogging break for a few days, but now I’m completely done with finals and getting ready to MOVE in four days!  Granted, right now, I’m just taking my stuff to live for a month or so and not packing up the whole house, but it’s a little crazy.  I don’t think it has really set in that this is my last weekend in St. Louis.  When I said “see you later” to some of my bestest friends on Friday night, I got a little emotional 😦  I’m moving back to live close to my family, which is wonderful, but I’ll miss the friends that have become my family over the last 7 years.

I had a sinus headache that took me out for a couple days this week- I’m feeling much better now, but I just hate that “my whole face hurts” feeling.  I haven’t been able to workout as a result, which puts me behind on my points for HBBC!  I’ll get to the gym today for sure and I’m really looking forward to it!

On to the good stuff…we’ve had some really good eats this weekend.  On Friday night, since I didn’t feel up to going out to bars as planned, we went to one of our favorite local pizza places: Dewey’s.  Sooo good!  Last night I made Erica’s Buffalo Chicken Calzones and they were delicious.  I wrapped Christmas presents, then did some late night baking- my BSI submittal.  I’ll post that later today.

This  morning, I thought about going to the gym right away because I was finally feeling well.  But, since it’s my last weekend in St. Louis with my hubby, I decided to make breakfast and be lazy in my PJ’s for awhile.  I made a Spinach and Mushroom Quiche:

 

IMG_1360

I used this recipe but used 3/4 cup of skim milk and about 1/4 cup of mozzarella cheese to give it more cheesy-ness.  It was really good and pretty healthy!

I had a pie crust left in the freezer from a two-pack I bought at Thanksgiving.  I’m intimidated by making my own pie crust and when I found this organic brand, I felt pretty good about just buying it and moving on! 

 

image

 

Organic Traditional 9″ Pie Shells

INGREDIENTS: Organic Wheat Flour, Organic Palm Oil, Water, Organic Cane Sugar, Sea Salt.

 

 

 

I highly recommend this pie crust!  It is flaky and delicious, sans all the trans fats.  My husband also liked it.  There is a whole wheat version, too, but I thought that was taking it a bit far for traditional pumpkin pie.  I would definitely try the whole wheat version for a quiche and will be buying these pie crusts next time I make a pie or quiche.

Zach and I are headed to Trader Joe’s to stock up on some of our favorite dry goods.  There’s no Trader Joe’s in Omaha- what will I do?!?! 

 

5 Responses to “Quiche!”

  1. No TJ’s?! Ahh – purchase copious amounts of peanut butter.

  2. Lindsay Says:

    aren’t erica’s buffalo chicken calzones amazing 🙂

  3. Amanda Says:

    I didn’t realize you were in StL, I”m KC! Anyhow it really sucks that we don’t have a TJ’s and I know you will seriously miss it in Omaha. Hy-Vee has started to carry a pretty good whole foods section, but more expensive than TJ

  4. Bridget Says:

    Ashley- I did! I stocked up on Peanut Butter, wine, and salsa.
    Lindsay- They are so good! Such a creative recipe.
    Amanda- I’ve browsed Hy-Vee’s whole foods section and it looks pretty good, but you’re right, definitely more expensive than TJ’s! Maybe someday Omaha will get one…

  5. Geri Says:

    Wow, no TJ’s. I’m in California. They have everything here. I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t get all my organic goodies.


Leave a Reply

