food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Good to be back December 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 11:05 pm

Last week, finishing up final exams for the semester and being sick pre-empted exercise.  Even though I was busy and felt like crap, I still missed my usual workouts.  Yesterday, I was finally feeling 100% and was ready to hit the gym.  I had an awesome workout- usually my gym trips are one hour, but I felt like I could stay all day on Sunday.  Here’s what I did:

30 min- elliptical (3 min. forward, 2 min. backward)

30 min- treadmill (3.25 miles, jogging and some speed intervals)

15 min- step mill (sooo sweaty!  loved it!)

30 min- weights (squats with shoulder press, plie squats with side shoulder raises, lunges with bicep curl, tricep extension on the cable machine with the help of Kelly’s instructions!)

At that point, I was done but felt like I needed to cool down, so I hopped back on the treadmill for an easy .25 mile walk.  Then I spent 15 quality minutes stretching my muscles out.

It felt so good- I couldn’t work out this hard regularly, but after a long break, it felt really good to work really hard.  I was so sweaty that the end of my ponytail was wet.  Gross!  My hair is pretty short, so I guess it’s not that gross, but still.

Today I was deliciously sore, so I just hopped on the treadmill in the basement for a 4.25 mile easy run/walk while I watched a couple episodes of Sex and the City on DVD. 

I’m up to 19.25 points for HBBC, which is obviously a lot lower than I’d like to be, but I feel strong and healthy today, so I’m ok with it!  Hope you all had a great Monday 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Good to be back”

  1. Kelly Turner Says:

    glad I could help!! See, its not so hard 😉

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  2. Meghann Says:

    I love workin gout after taking a hiatus. There’s nothing like a good sweat to get you back in the spirit! Enjoy your break from school!

  3. caitlin Says:

    getting back on the wagon always feels excellent!!


Leave a Reply

