food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Holiday Exercise December 27, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Bridget @ 11:34 pm

So I’ve been hibernating since my last post…just kidding!  Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas!  I have been busy celebrating with my family and my in-laws and now I’m back at my parents’ house.  I had a great Christmas and am glad the weather cooperated for all of our driving- hopefully it stays that way for my husband’s last leg of the trip back to St. Louis next weekend. 

My parents don’t have wireless internet (gasp!), so blogging is a little more difficult from their desktop.  Pictures will have to wait until Zach gets wireless hooked up for them this week 🙂

I’m going to do a quick re-cap of my workouts during this holiday week.  Considering that I am not at my home, started a new job on Monday, and had various Christmas festivities during the week, I think I did pretty well!  I don’t have a gym membership here yet, but luckily my parents have a treadmill in their basement in front of a TV.  This is lucky because it was very cold and icy here in Omaha early last week, so outdoor activity was out of the question!

Sunday 12/21- ran 4.5 miles on TM (incl. warm-up and cool-down), stretched 15 min.; watched Extreme Home Makeover– this was a good treadmill show because I had to keep going to see the end result

Monday 12/22- no workout.  Delivered gifts from church with my dad in approx. 0 degree weather.  Ate soup and hid under a blanket afterwards.

Tuesday 12/23- no workout.  Worked late (well, later than planned), husband got into town, went to dinner with a good friend in town from San Francisco

Wednesday 12/24- ran 5.5 miles on TM, 15 min. weights, 15 min. stretching; watched Love Actually on DVD

Thursday 12/25- Merry Christmas!  ran 3.5 miles on TM before we headed to north of Kansas City to see the in-laws; watched A Christmas Story on TBS– I love that movie, wish I’d had time to watch more!!

Friday 12/26 – finally had a warm day!!  It was almost 60*, so Zach and I went for a walk on the country roads near his parents house.  I thought this would be boring, but it was actually very peaceful.  The fresh air felt amazing, we walked for about an hour, which I am guesstimating to be about 3 miles.  Saw several cows and horses.

Saturday 12/27- drove back to Omaha.  ran 6.5 miles on TM (walked about a mile between warm-up, cool-down and a break for a cramp), stretched 15 min.; watched (can’t believe I’m admitting this) Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen on Disney.  It’s always nice to see Lindsay Lohan pre-fall-from-grace.

I usually like to mix it up more than just running, but since that was my only option this week, I’m glad I got in what I could.

I’m off to spend some quality time catching up on all your lovely blogs!  My Google Reader is full- I’ve missed you guys!

 

8 Responses to “Holiday Exercise”

  1. HangryPants Says:

    great runs! Oh that and Mean Girls are so great. Such promise!

  2. Sounds like a great week! A Christmas Story is such a classic.

  3. Lindsay Says:

    what amazing workout accomplishments!

  4. Bridget Says:

    Wow look at you and all your exercising!!! I need to catch up! Thanks for the info on the nike/ipod pouch thing…I think I’ll end up buying one of those.

    Sounds like you had a great Christmas!! Hope you’re still enjoying the weekend 🙂

  5. Erica Says:

    Looks like you had a great week of exercising! You know I’m a TM queen…there’s nothing wrong with that! lol Oh and I could watch just about anything while I’m running, including cartoons! Just anything to keep my mind off of watching the clock. This morning it was 3 episodes of Desperate Housewives…I was so stoked, my mom got me season 4 DVDs for Christmas! Have a great Sunday!

  6. Amanda Says:

    Good job on squeezing in the workouts it can be hard to do! Hope all the traveling gets settled soon for you!

  7. Kelly Turner Says:

    great job on the workouts! Merry Belated Christmas!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  8. caitlin Says:

    now, i think its different when other people are engaging in fat talk. you can’t correct them the same way you can correct yourself. when you correct your own fat talk, you are saying “fat talk is not ok, you are fab!” but when you do the same thing to someone else, it can come off as ENCOURAGING the fat talk (i.e. “i’m so fat”, “no you aren’t, youre so skinnyyyyy!”) with positive reinforcement.

    i’m going to use my mom again because she’s a really good example, unfortunately. 😦 when she fat talks, i say something like “mom, that is really ridiculous. you are beautiful and amazing on the inside. it’s amazing you didn’t give me an eating disorder talking like that.” AND THAT’S IT. i disengage the conversation.

    also, when they AREN’T talking fat, it might be a good idea to approach the topic “philosophically” and discuss how the behavior is bad for all women, not just the fat talkers. if you get fat talkers to discuss the topic without feeling personally attacked, its helpful!!

    or, pass on this youtube vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RKPaxD61lwo


Leave a Reply

