food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

New Year, New Things January 8, 2009

Filed under: Reflections — Bridget @ 8:30 pm

Hope you are all having a good first full week of 2009!  My week has been great.  This is the first “real” week at my new job, and I really think I’m going to like it!  The people are nice, the work will keep me busy and things are different each day.  The hours are new for me, too.  Here they work 7 to 3:30 ( I used to work 8ish to 5 M-Th and 8 to 2 on Fridays).  I used to workout before work on most days, which meant I had to get up at 5:00am.  This week, I’ve been working right after work and loving it!  I have a lot more energy at that time of day and I think I’m getting a better workout in.

A lot of things are going to be new for me in 2009, but I think it’s going to be a great year.  I know some people don’t believe in resolutions because so many people break them, but I’m going to use this new year to set a few goals for myself.  Some of these have been in work for a while, but here are my goals for 2009:

  • Be more organized!  I’ve let things slip in the last few years and hate the feeling of not being organized in my life, in my house, and at work.  This will also include keeping my new house less cluttered.  I like to call this goal “getting my life together.”  It’s already off to a really good start.
  • Get stuff done– do things I need to do (clean the house, homework, etc.) before I do things I want to do (watch TV, read blogs and general internet time-wasting).
  • Make a better effort with social plans– sometimes I rely on others too much to invite me to do things.  This will be especially important since I don’t have a ton of friends here and will hopefully make new ones!
  • Don’t take things out on my husband.  He doesn’t deserve it, no matter how stressed out I am.

I’ve got a few other things in mind, but this is where I’m starting.

Even though this first week of 09 has been a good one, getting up to go to work each morning is taking a toll after my holiday break- I’m pooped!

Technorati Tags: ,
 

5 Responses to “New Year, New Things”

  1. I’m glad you’re liking your job! Good goals for 2009. Some of mine are similar – like getting stuff done (I procrastinate TOO much!).

  2. Hangry Pants Says:

    Great to hear you are liking the new job! Great goals for ’09. I definitely tend to take things out on Mark and then I feel so bad after!

  3. Lindsay Says:

    i love your organization goal and the one about not taking things out on your hubby – i do the same thing and am trying not to either 🙂

  4. Bridget Says:

    Sweetandnatural- I procrastinate WAAY to much too and it makes me mad at myself everytime- that’s what I’m trying to change!
    Heather and Lindsay- It’s so easy to take things out on the people around us! Good luck!

  5. Victoria Says:

    Good Luck! My goals are so similar to yours! I’m definitely working on keeping my junk together (which is my phrase for being organized) and stop taking out frustrations on the husband. 🙂


Leave a Reply

