food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

A January Miracle January 21, 2009

Filed under: winter,workouts — Bridget @ 8:38 pm

See that??  There — through the trees:

IMG_1505

It’s the sun!!  And not the deceiving winter it-looks-so-pretty-and-bright-outside-but-really-it’s-still-freakin-freezing sun, but actual sunshine complete with 45* weather.  It has been very very cold here, so this warmer sunny day was a very welcome change.  I work in a building with no windows, so I was super excited to see the sun and realize I didn’t need a scarf and gloves on the way to my car after work.  I ditched my plan to go to the gym since it also has no windows (I work on an Air Force base and go to the base gym…both my work building and the gym are old airplane hangars, therefore no windows).  Instead, I headed home, changed clothes, and drove to my mom’s work to meet her for a walk on the path around their campus.  We walked 3 miles and absorbed all the fresh air and Vitamin D that we could.  Glorious!!

I think I am finally over my sickness of the past week.  It started with a sore throat, took about a 1.5 day break where I thought I was all better, then turned into a lot of sinus congestion and pressure.  I still had a sinusy headache today, but it was much better than the past few days.  Because of this, I have spent even more time indoors lately than I usually do in the winter- even more reason that the fresh air felt so great today!

Hope it was a beautiful day wherever you are!

P.S. Don’t forget to head to Meghann’s blog to help her reach her fundraising goal for the Rock n Roll San Diego Marathon!

Technorati Tags: ,
 

4 Responses to “A January Miracle”

  1. Erica Says:

    It was totally beautiful here, too! But we had temps near 60*! Crazy!

  2. Hangry Pants Says:

    Well we had sun, but not warmth. Enjoy the warm sun!!!!

  3. Meghann Says:

    Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

  4. Erica Says:

    yayyyyy for the sun and warmth! I am def not a winter person. Your haircut is super cute by the way!


Leave a Reply

