food.fit.fun

a few of my favorite things

Visitors February 15, 2009

Filed under: Reflections,weekend,winter — Bridget @ 8:10 pm

I guess I should have clarified more about my last post…on Monday I was very ill and basically got rid of everything in my system.  I couldn’t eat anything.  On Tuesday, I was able to eat a few saltines.  Tuesday evening, I knew I needed nutrients to get my strength back, so I made a smoothie using a banana, frozen fruit and milk.  That upset my stomach again and led to a very rough night (the culprit was likely milk).  My system just couldn’t handle much at all.  On Wednesday, I decided to eat only the bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast I mentioned in my last post because I needed to start getting SOMETHING in my system and those things are very easily digested.  This “diet” is often recommended by doctors for patients recovering from gastro-intestinal problems.  Yes, it is very bland and does not contain many nutrients and it’s VERY different than what I typically eat, but it was literally all that my body could handle.  It allowed me to slowly re-build my system and my stomach until I could handle real foods, which I was able to do on Friday- YAY!

Saturday was really busy – I finally got my wedding album and also picked out some things for our new house.  My stomach behaved well (on normal foods), but I ran out of energy after a couple hours of shopping and had to take a nap! 

I felt a little ‘off’ all day today and I started to wonder if it was a lack of exercise.  I haven’t worked out for over a week due to the stomach flu, which is very out of the norm for me.  I didn’t have a ton of energy, so I walked on the treadmill for a while, which made me feel a little better.  I start my second-to-last MBA class tomorrow evening, so I did a little reading for class and took it easy for most of the day.

At least I had a pretty view while I worked…this is the view from my favorite room in my parents’ house, the sun room.  We got 6.5” of snow on Friday and the sunroom gives a beautiful view of all the snow:

IMG_1517IMG_1518

Can you spot my visitors in this picture?

IMG_1520

 

4 Responses to “Visitors”

  1. Hangry Pants Says:

    I hope you feel 100% soon!

    At my parents’ house deer would come so close to the front door! I loved it. 😀

  2. Erica Says:

    oh my gosh! I’m sorry if I sounded totally judgmental! I never want to be that girl so I apologize! I am sorry you have been sicky- that totally stinks! Hoping you are much closer to 100% this evening!

    I am so excited to hear that you are going through very similar things! Congrats on all your excitement! I will keep my fingers crossed for you that everything goes PERFECTLY!

  3. gina (fitnessista) Says:

    hope you feel better soon!
    what an AMAZING view!
    hope your night is going well!!

  4. Lindsay Says:

    gorgeous view!!!!!

    i hope you feel better soon, having stomach issues is the absolute worst feeling 😦


Leave a Reply

